AAA History

The AAA has a rich history dating back to the early days of the province of Alberta. Alberta’s Architects Act was one of the 77 bills passed in the first session of the Alberta legislature in 1906 thereby establishing the AAA to regulate the practice of architecture in the province of Alberta. Since then there have been many important milestones that have shaped the AAA’s storied past.

In 1926 Edmonton-native Esther Marjorie Hill prevailed over significant opposition to become the first female to be registered as an architect by a provincial association of architecture. 

1956 saw the beginnings of the Banff Session conference with a ‘refresher course’ held in Banff, AB. The biennial conference continues to be a draw for architects and interior designers from across Alberta and North America.

In 1974, Freda O’Conner became the first female president of the AAA, and the first female president of any architects’ association across Canada.

Duggan House became the home of the AAA when staff moved in to the building in 1981. The following year, 1982, legislation was updated and passed that allowed interior designers to become licensed through the AAA.

More than a century later, the AAA continues to uphold its mandate while adapting with our professions and members. Recently, the AAA established the Tom Sutherland award in honour of the late Tom Sutherland and his commitment to community, and formed an Advocacy Committee to explore how we can further support the professions of architecture and licensed interior design in Alberta.